Ever wondered how much ‘cricket’ cricketers know? Watch India and Tamil Nadu All-rounder Vijay Shankar take up the quiz on Laws of Cricket. 10 questions: 4 Easy, 3 Medium and 3 Tough. 3 lifelines.
1: What’s the change in DRS law (playing conditions) due to restriction on travel because of COVID-19?
A: No change
B: Unlimited reviews per innings
C: 3 unsuccessful reviews per innings
D: Home team gets 2 unsuccessful reviews, away team gets 3.
2: A right hand bowler in his run up switches and delivers the ball with his left hand. The batsman is surprised and misses the ball, which hits the stumps. What will the umpire do?
A: Dead ball
B: No ball
3: T20I Super Over: Chris Gayle bats in a Super Over and is dismissed. The super over is tied, so the game goes into another Super Over. Can Chris Gayle bat in the second Super Over?
C: Yes, if opposition captain agrees
4. In an ODI match, a team scores 300 runs in the first 30 overs. Anticipating rain, the batting team captain tells the umpire he wants to declare the innings. What does the umpire do?
A: Accepts declaration, sets a target of 301 runs
B: Accepts declaration, applies Duckworth-Lewis to set target
C: Doesn’t allow the declaration
5: A batsman hits the ball straight back. The ball hits the bowler, then the umpire and then hits the stump with the non striker out of the crease. Fielding team appeals. What happens?
A: Non striker is run out
B: Not out, the ball is dead when it hits umpire
C: Not out, the fielding team is warned for needless appealing.
6. The umpires find out that a fielder has deliberately tampered the ball in an ODI match, and decide to change the ball. Who chooses the replacement ball?
A: The umpires
B: Captain of the fielding side
C: Captain of the batting side
D: Batsmen at the wicket
7. ODI: A team needs 4 runs to win off 1 ball. The batsman gets an inside edge onto his pad, and the ball rolls to the fine leg boundary. However, the umpire has given him out LBW. Batsman calls for DRS, and the decision is reversed to NOT OUT. Who wins the match?
A: Batting team
B: Bowling team
C: The match is tied
D: The ball is re-bowled
8. The ball hits the thigh pad, and ROLLS ALONG THE GROUND towards the stumps. To protect his wicket, the batsman hits the ball. It flies straight to the fielder who catches it. What will the umpire decide?
A: Out caught
B: Out hit the ball twice
C: Not out
D: Out obstructing the field
9. A ball goes straight up in the air after the batsman gets a top edge. The batsmen try for a quick single. The ball falls on the pitch and rolls back to the stumps at the striker end. It then ACCIDENTALLY hits the non striker’s bat & hits the stumps with the non-striker out of his crease. What will happen?
A: Non striker is out obstructing the field
B: Non striker is run out
C: Non striker out hit the ball twice
D: NOT OUT
10. Last over of a T20I: Looking at the field, a batter guesses that the bowler is going to bowl a wide yorker. So, even as the bowler is in his/her run up, the batters start running to steal a bye and bring the stronger batter on strike. As guessed, the ball goes outside off and the batters take a bye. What happens?
A: The striker is given out obstructing the field
B: The non striker is given out obstructing the field
C: It’s allowed – 1 run to batting side
D: Not allowed – 5 runs penalty awarded to fielding side
1. C (3 DRS per innings)
2. B (no ball)
21.1.1 The umpire shall ascertain whether the bowler intends to bowl right handed or left handed, over or round the wicket, and shall so inform the striker.
It is unfair if the bowler fails to notify the umpire of a change in his/her mode of delivery. In this case the umpire shall call and signal No ball.
3. B (no)
SUPER OVER: Any batsman dismissed in any previous Super Over shall be ineligible to bat in the following Super Over.
4. C (declaration not allowed)
13.7.1 Uninterrupted Matches. 184.108.40.206 Each team shall bat for 50 overs unless all out earlier.
15 DECLARATION AND FORFEITURE Shall not apply
5. A (run out)
6. D (batsmen at the wicket)
If it is possible to identify the player(s) responsible for changing the condition of the ball, the umpires shall:
220.127.116.11.1 If the umpires together agree that the condition of the ball has been unfairly changed by a member or members of the fielding side, the batsman at the wicket shall choose the replacement ball from a selection of six other balls of various degrees of usage (including a new ball) and of the same brand as the ball in use prior to the contravention.
7. B (bowling team)
If following a Player Review request, an original decision of Out is changed to Not out, then the ball is still deemed to have become dead when the original decision was made (as per clause 18.104.22.168). The batting side, while benefiting from the reversal of the dismissal, shall not benefit from any runs that may subsequently have accrued from the delivery had the on-field umpire originally made a Not out decision, other than any No ball penalty that could arise under paragraph 3.3.5above
8. C (not out)
Furthermore, a catch will be fair if any of the following conditions applies:
22.214.171.124 a fielder catches the ball after it has been lawfully struck more than once by the striker, but only if it has not been grounded since it was first struck. See Law 34 (Hit the ball twice).
34.1.2 For the purpose of this Law ‘struck’ or ‘strike’ shall include contact with the person of the striker.
9. D (not out)
MCC 38.1: Either batsman is out Run out, except as in 38.2, if, at any time while the ball is in play, he/she is out of his/her ground and his/her wicket is fairly put down by the action of a fielder even though No ball has been called
10. D (5 run penalty)
41.17 Batters stealing a run
41.17.1 It is unfair for the batters to attempt to steal a run during the bowler’s run-up.Unless the bowler attempts to run out either batter–see clauses 41.16and 21.4(Bowler throwing towards striker’s end before delivery) – the umpire shall-
call and signal Dead ball as soon as the batters cross in such an attempt.
-award 5 Penalty runs to the fielding side
PS: Laws of cricket is often a matter of interpretation by the umpires. We hope we’ve got them right in this quiz. If not, please let it go as a dubious/bad decision by the umpire! After all, the umpire’s decision is final.